‘Hocus Pocus’ Star Omri Katz Says He Was Stoned Throughout Filming

Now Max Dennison’s tie-dye shirt seems all the more fitting.

Omri Katz has revealed that he was high on marijuana while filming Disney’s 1993 Halloween movie Hocus Pocus. The actor was 16 years old when he starred in the movie alongside Bette Midler, Sarah Jessica Parker, Kathy Najimy, Vinessa Shaw and Thora Birch.

“That was at an age where I started experimenting with cannabis. Let’s just say, some of those scenes, I was having a good old time,” Katz told Entertainment Weekly in a new interview.

He didn’t recall which scenes but remembered “misperforming and not hitting my keys or marks” when director Kenny Ortega asked him if he was stoned. “He was like, ‘Are you high?’ and I was like, ‘No,’ and of course, I was,” Katz admitted.

Shaw, who recently sat down for an EW roundtable to mark the film’s new sequel, Hocus Pocus 2, said she remembered Ortega confronting Katz during a scene at the beginning of the movie when the witch Winifred Sanderson (Midler) zaps Max (Katz) with green magic.

“I didn’t look like I was getting zapped,” Katz said. “I looked like I was getting high.”

Katz appeared in TV shows such as Dallas and Eerie, Indiana as well as the movie Matinee, before retiring from acting. He says he wasn’t asked to be involved in the Disney+ sequel and currently runs the cannabis company The Mary Danksters.

Hocus Pocus and Hocus Pocus 2 are both currently streaming on Disney+. Midler, Parker and Najimy reprised their roles as the Sanderson sisters and Birch was booked for a role in the sequel, but later had to drop out due to a scheduling conflict.