Drew Barrymore Lays on Floor While George Clooney Plays Her Therapist in Hilarious ‘Drew Barrymore Show’ Interview

Some go to licensed therapists, while others use their friends as therapists. And if you’re Drew Barrymore and your friend is George Clooney, why not do the latter? After teasing clips from the actor’s episode-long appearance all week, today’s airing of The Drew Barrymore Show did not disappoint as the Ticket to Paradise star hilariously role-played as Barrymore’s therapist once she made some revelations about her romantic life.

After confessing to the actor that she had gotten drunk and made out with his best friend, Waldo, while on the set of Confessions of a Dangerous MindBarrymore pointed out that Clooney and Sam Rockwell “are people I have never had romantic relationships with” to which he joked, “That’s what she says.”

“You were somebody who was very safe for me and that was one of the best times I’ve ever had at work in my life,” the talk show host admitted. “It reminds me of when I’m with Adam Sandler, like we just have the best time. And he’s also another one I’ve never had a romantic relationship with — there’s a theme here.”

Barrymore continued, “Well, all the men that are the most sustainable in my life, I’ve never had a romantic relationship with. You know, I’m just gonna talk to Barry my therapist about that on Monday.”

When Clooney asked if she would like to lay flat on the floor and just talk about it, Barrymore did just that as the actor, who was fully in character, said, “Yes, yes. And how does that make you feel?” before she honestly responded, “Weird because I’ve been thinking that friendship was such a part of a relationship for safety.”

'Drew Barrymore Show'
Photo: CBS

The Ocean’s Eleven star joked, “Yeah, no it’s really not. You don’t need to be friends at all.” However, he changed his mind when Barrymore asked if he actually believes that. He said, “No, I think you should be friends. I think you should start as friends, maybe.”

And as quickly as it all began, the session ended, leaving audiences with the improv performance of a lifetime between a rom-com queen and an Academy Award-winning actor.

The Drew Barrymore Show airs on weekdays at 9:30 a.m. ET on CBS.