Confused John Stamos Believed Drew Barrymore Was About To Propose Marriage During Awkward Interview Moment

John Stamos had the best response when Drew Barrymore got on the floor during his interview on today’s episode of The Drew Barrymore Show. The talk show host has notably taken things to the ground while interviewing people like Hilary and Chelsea Clinton, Regina Hall, and Lea Michele, and it seems as though Stamos, who was promoting his new Disney+ show Big Shot, was no exception.

Somewhere in the middle of their interview, Barrymore crawled her way to the floor, which prompted the Full House star to say, “If you’re gonna ask me to get married, I’m already married.”

“No, I know you are,” Barrymore responded as Stamos, who still looked slightly confused, said, “Alright,” and lowered himself to the floor alongside her.

'Drew Barrymore Show'
Photo: CBS

The actress previously said “there’s an intimacy” about doing interviews on the floor, which made sense during today’s episode since she was asking Stamos about letters his late mother left for him. She pointed out, “You have letters from your mom, like I was reading and researching that about you. And I don’t think there’s any more profound way to communicate with your loved ones like there is in a written word.”

When the actor asked Barrymore if she writes letters, she told him, “I write postcards to my daughters all the time. They have stamp collections, we have letters.”

Stamos went on to read a letter from his mother that he found while cleaning out her house about a month after she passed away. Both he and Barrymore were back in their chairs at this point, by the way.

He admitted that it was his “roughest moment” but read the audience the touching note that said, “Life is an occasion, rise to it. Don’t be sad because I died, be happy because I lived. I had a wonderful life.” Holding back tears, Stamos told Barrymore, “That was my mom.”

He also opened up about honoring the late Bob Saget, who famously starred alongside him in Full House, by singing “Forever” with the Beach Boys, a song that he sang on the hit sitcom. While talking about the ways he pays tribute to his longtime friend, he joked, “If we’re quiet, we can hear him complaining that I don’t talk about him enough.”

The Drew Barrymore Show airs on weekdays at 9:30 a.m. ET on CBS.