T.J. Miller Says He and Ryan Reynolds Had “Misunderstanding” Over ‘Deadpool’ Comments: “It’s Fine”

T.J. Miller insists there’s no bad blood between himself and Ryan Reynolds after he publicly bashed the actor and his “horrifically mean” comments during an Oct. 3 appearance on the Adam Carolla ShowMiller, who costarred in two Deadpool movies with Reynolds, claimed last week that his costar “hates” him, and proclaimed he would never work with Reynolds again.

It appears Miller’s words made their way back to Reynolds, though, and Miller has since pulled a 180 on his feelings toward the Free Guy star. While appearing on SiriusXM’s Jim Norton & Sam Roberts Podcast Wednesday (Oct. 12), Miller said Reynolds contacted him after his comments on Carolla’s show.

“It was a misunderstanding,” Miller said, per The Hollywood Reporter. “So I emailed him back, and now it’s fine.”

Miller commended Reynolds for reaching out to him, saying, “It was very cool for him to say, ‘Hey, you know, I just heard on the show that you were upset about this.’ And I kind of said, ‘You know, I’m not,’ and then we sort of just hashed it out really quickly.”

The Silicon Valley actor also admitted on Wednesday’s podcast that he hasn’t previously considered “the repercussions of saying this or that,” but later said he didn’t think his comments about Reynolds were “that negative.”

He continued, “I feel bad that it was picked up and that it was misconstrued. But no, it was the next day — he and I talked, and it’s fine.”

Miller’s comments come after he recounted a “weird” moment on the Deadpool set with Reynolds and told Carolla he didn’t want to appear in another film in the superhero franchise with Reynolds. Miller, who played bartender Weasel in Deadpool and Deadpool 2, said Reynolds was “horrifically mean” to him as Deadpool.

“He was like, ‘You know what’s great about you, Weasel? You’re not the star, but you do just enough exposition that it’s funny, and then we can leave and get back to the real movie…I just kind of listened and thought it was weird, and then I got off stage because they were like, ‘Cut…?'” Miller recalled.

While Miller added that he admired Reynolds’ humor, he told Carolla the actor seemed “insecure,” and said he had no desire to collaborate with him again.

“Would I work with him again? No. I would not work with him again,” Miller said. “I sorta wish him well because he’s so good at Deadpool and I think it’s weird that he hates me.”

Deadpool 3 is currently slate for a 2024 release, but Miller is not expected to appear in the film.