Sam Neill Blames Son for Farting Near Princess Diana During ‘Jurassic Park’ Screening

Sam Neill says the last time he saw Jurassic Park, he found himself in a bit of an unsavory situation. The actor, who stars in the 1993 Steven Spielberg classic as Alan Grant, told The New York Times it’s been years since he watched the drama “it in its totality,” but he’ll never forget the experience — or the smell.

When asked how long it’s been since he saw Jurassic Park, Neill told the Times, “The last time I watched it in its totality was sitting beside Princess Di at Leicester Square at the London opening. On the other side of me was my son Tim — he was 11 and completely swept away by it, but about the time the T-Rex turns up, Tim started to fart.”

He continued, “And the draft was drifting across me to royalty! I spent the whole film in a muck sweat, thinking, ‘Princess Di is being exposed to the horrors of a little boy’s fart, but she’s going to think it’s me. I am going to be subliminally blamed for my son’s crimes, and I don’t think she’ll talk to me afterwards.'”

Thankfully for Neill, all his worrying was for nothing. He told the Times Diana was gracious despite the fart incident: “But she was well brought up and never mentioned it.”

Neill, who was participating in the Times Q&A with Jurassic Park‘s Laura Dern and Jeff Goldblum, got plenty of flack from his old costars, who roasted him for trying to blame the situation on his son.

“I love that story, Sam,” said Goldberg, who plays Ian Malcolm in the film. “I’ve heard him tell that a couple of times, and it’s just amazing the lengths that he will go to still blame the boy.”

Dern, who plays Dr. Ellie Sattler, chimed in to add, “And Tim’s a grown man now!”

Neill, Goldberg and Dern all reunited to star in the latest Jurassic Park film, Jurassic World: Dominion, in which they reprise their roles decades after the very first film. Dominion, which also stars Chris Pratt, Bryce Dallas Howard and DeWanda Wise, debuts in theaters June 10.