Daniel Craig Did an Entire Interview While Bleeding From His Head

James Bond can’t catch a break. While participating in Variety’s Actors on Actors segment, Daniel Craig sported a new accessory while he filmed his clip with Javier Bardem: a bloody forehead. Yes, for his entire interview, the No Time to Die actor’s appearance included blood dripping from a wound in his upper forehead. Luckily, the actor said, he’s used to this kind of thing. That’s showbiz!

“Let me ask you, my friend, as my last question: What happened to you here?” Bardem said, pointing to a spot on his forehead.

“Where? Did I bash my head?” Craig responded, running his hands over his forehead and into his scalp. “Do I just have sandwich on my head?”

Completely ignoring the comment about possibly getting sandwich on his, uh, forehead, Bardem continued to assist Craig in finding the mark on his face.

“You have something red on the right,” Bardem said, once again tapping his upper forehead. “Here!”

Craig, who found the whole thing incredibly humorous, still couldn’t identify the bizarre mark on his noggin. Now laughing, he blamed himself for creating such an anomaly during a big press tour.

“Why have I done this on the TV? It’s probably part of sandwich,” he said, now getting up to go check it out off-camera.

“Go take a look in the mirror,” Bardem said with a chuckle.

When Craig finally returned, he revealed what was on his head: blood. Yes, James Bond is as much of a daredevil in real life as he is on screen, too!

“Christ, I didn’t even look in the mirror. So, they’ve sent me this wonderful ring flash, which I’ve set up with an iPad in the middle of it. I went like this,” Craig explained, jerking his head forward, “and it just fell on my head, just before this.”

Bardem and Craig shared a good laugh. “You spent the whole interview like that!” Bardem said. “I love it.”

“This is 17 years playing Bond,” Craig joked. “Can you see how prone I am? No wonder I get fucking injured every time I do a movie.”

Craig, who has been open about the many breaks, sprains, and other injuries the Bond movies have inflicted on him, couldn’t stop laughing as the blood poured from his forehead. Luckily, Bardem was a graceful interviewer, joining in on the joke.

“Literally, I was just setting this up when it went DONK!” Craig continued, setting the scene. “I went, ‘Aw, Jesus!'”

“Well, I’m very happy this is not something that happened to you—” Bardem said before Craig cut him off, reassuring the Being the Ricardos star that his scar was only minor.

“It’s just a little whatever,” Craig concluded. “If I don’t get injured while I’m filming, I’m not doing it properly.”

Still in good humor over the whole bit, both actors ended their Actors on Actors interview with a good chuckle. Now, go get a band-aid on that wound, Bond!

Where to watch No Time to Die