Miss Alaska, Emma Broyles, Crowned Miss America 2022

Miss America 2022 has crowned a winner! Emma Broyles (aka Miss Alaska) received the title Thursday, capping off the famous competition’s 100th annual event, which livestreamed on Peacock. Broyle’s win marks Alaska’s first Miss America title in history. Lauren Bradford (Miss Alabama) was first runner-up, while Elizabeth Pierre (Miss Massachusetts) received the second runner-up title.

Fifty women representing the nation’s states and capital competed in the event, although Miss Maine Mariah Larocque shared on Instagram that she had to withdraw from the competition due to a COVID-19 diagnosis. As the winner, Broyles received a six-figure salary, as well as $100,000 in scholarship money. 

For the talent portion, she performed the song “Let Me Be Your Star” from the TV series Smash. Broyles also managed to stand out thanks to her vulnerability in the final interview round.

When asked what she would do if a major Miss America sponsor’s male representative made inappropriate sexual advances toward her, the 20-year-old replied, “I know in my heart that as a woman, I am never going to let somebody treat me like [that], because women should never be treated like objects.”

Broyles also got candid about her mental health during her interview, saying, “I am real. I have flaws. I have ADHD. I have dermatillomania, which is a form of OCD. I have struggled with all of these things and because of that, I am a better person. During COVID, it was an incredibly difficult time for me, being isolated in my college dorm for so long. It was that point when I hit rock bottom when I realized I can be so much more than that.”

Miss America 2022 is now streaming on Peacock.