Why is Elaine Welteroth Leaving ‘The Talk’?

After less than a year as a full-time host on the series, Elaine Welteroth is exiting The Talk on CBS. The TV personality has stated that she’s taking time off in order to pursue other projects, joining co-host Carrie Ann Inaba as the second person to leave the series in recent weeks. According to Deadline‘s report, the search for new permanent hosts is underway, as The Talk premieres its new season in a few short weeks.

“We wish Elaine all the best. We are grateful for her passion, enthusiasm, and insight she brought to the show daily,” The Talk executive producers Heather Gray and Kristin Matthews told Deadline. “Her openness and meaningful conversations were attributes we admired and always appreciated.”

Welteroth began her tenure on The Talk in late fall of 2020, guest-hosting a handful of times before snagging a full-time panelist role on January 4, 2021. She and Amanda Kloots both became permanent panelists, replacing Marie Osmond and Eve after their departure.

“It is an absolute honor for anyone, but especially a young Black woman, to occupy space on-air where our perspectives are largely underrepresented,” Welteroth said upon departure. “It was gratifying to be able to show up as my authentic self in front of a live national audience every day in a world as divided as ours and to stay true to myself and what I stand for.”

The news comes after Sharon Osbourne‘s abrupt exit from The Talk this spring amid controversy. Sheryl Underwood is currently the only permanent co-host who was on the show last September, and she’ll be joined by Osbourne’s replacement, Jerry O’Connell, and Kloots in the next season.

“I came to The Talk to break out of my own echo chamber and to join a diverse cast in helping to bridge some of the divides in our world through conversation and empathy,” Welteroth said. “I’m proud of how I represented myself and my community. But as I always say: when the music changes, so must your dance! I will miss my talented co-hosts and crew and I wish them the very best. Thanks to all those who tuned in every day.

While Welteroth’s reasoning behind the departure was left vague, she stated that something new is in the mix.

“I’m excited to continue these necessary conversations in my work and to share my upcoming creative projects soon,” Welteroth concluded.

Currently, Welteroth serves as a judge on Bravo’s Project Runway, which is set to debut a new season this October. Her memoir More Than Enough is currently in development as a TV series from Paramount TV Studios and Anonymous Content.

Stay tuned for more updates on Welteroth’s next career moves in the industry. The Talk will return on Sept. 13, debuting weekdays on CBS at 2/1c.

Where to watch The Talk