‘Big Brother’ Contestant Admits She Sometimes Feels “Guilty” for Being Bisexual

One Big Brother contestant discussed her sexuality in an emotional conversation on last night’s episode, earning praise from viewers who applauded her for being so open and honest. Sarah Beth Steagall, a 27-year-old forensic scientist, shared her coming out story and explained why she sometimes felt “guilty” for being bisexual, Yahoo Entertainment reports.

“Growing up in a religious family, I’m really lucky in that they accept me and they love me, but I know it still hurts them. I think I struggle a lot with feeling guilty because I am bi, and I could just date a guy and make things easier,” Sarah Beth told her fellow houseguests, apologizing for tearing up during the conversation.

Later in the Diary Room, Sarah Beth opened up more about her experience, explaining, “I know I’m still on a journey for myself because of how I was raised, and, you know, what society has told me.” She added, “I’m still personally working through the prejudices that were put into my head. Even though I am a bisexual woman, and even though I know what I believe is right, I still have to not only accept myself, but make sure I’m also accepting everybody else.”

Sarah Beth is one of three LGBTQ Big Brother contestants this season, along with Derek and Claire. Sarah Beth credited her girlfriend, Shelley, for helping her come out to her family. “Now it’s at the point where it’s like, I love her,” Sarah Beth said. “I really love her.”

The candid moment resonated with fans on Twitter, who connected with Sarah Beth and shared their appreciation for her honesty. One wrote, “Seeing someone bisexual talk about their experience on #BB23 means a lot to me. I never felt like the bi community was well represented on BB so to see a segment dedicated to Sarah Beth’s struggles with her sexuality felt really good.”

While Sarah Beth earned the praise of viewers after last night’s episode, she also earned the admiration of her Big Brother co-stars for her honesty and openness. “I think the absolute world of Sarah Beth. I’m seeing how much she loves her family, and how much she loves her girlfriend Shelly. I’m so honored to hear her story,” houseguest Britini said, telling Sara Beth, “You are one incredible young woman.”

Big Brother airs Sundays, Wednesdays and Thursdays at 8/7c on CBS. Watch Sarah Beth’s emotional conversation from last night’s episode in the video above.

Where to watch Big Brother