‘Grey’s Anatomy’s Giacomo Gianniotti is “So Relieved” by Andrew Deluca’s Fate

If you made the mistake of skipping Grey’s Anatomy last night, you probably have one major question after checking Twitter this morning: what the heck happened?! ABC’s annual Grey’s AnatomyStation 19 crossover event, which also served as the mid-season premiere, certainly packed a punch, as fans were forced to say goodbye to a major character, yet again. How many times can Shonda put us through this?

Warning: Spoilers ahead for Grey’s Anatomy Season 17, Episode 7, “Helplessly Hoping.”

For months, fans have been waiting to learn the fate of Meredith Grey, who is currently battling COVID-19, but few were expecting to part ways with her recent love interest, Dr. Andrew DeLuca (played by Giacomo Gianniotti). During the crossover episode, DeLuca pursued a sex trafficker that he had encountered in the hospital earlier this season, but he was stabbed, and after being rushed to Grey Sloan Memorial Hospital, he succumbed to his injuries.

But before DeLuca left Grey’s Anatomy for good, he said goodbye to Meredith on the beach that has popped up frequently throughout the season. “No matter what happens, I want you to know that I never felt seen the way you saw me. I never felt inspired the way you inspired me. You made me want to be not just my best self, but better,” he told Meredith. “And yeah, I felt small around you sometimes. I felt insecure. I wanted something from you that I needed to give to myself. But here, now, on this beach with you, I get it. I don’t just get it, I feel it. I get who I am. I know my own soul, my strength.”

Back in the real world, DeLuca flatlined on the operating table, and despite Teddy (Kim Raver) and Owen’s (Kevin McKidd) best efforts to save him, he didn’t make it.

After spending six years with DeLuca, fans were beside themselves when they learned of his tragic fate. “Y’all cannot kill DeLuca WTF,” wrote one fan. “84 days to watch Grey’s Anatomy again and the first episode back DeLuca died,” said another. “I don’t know how I’ll sleep.”

Interestingly, DeLuca himself doesn’t seem too torn up about his death. In an interview with VarietyGrey’s showrunner Krista Vernoff revealed that Gianniotti “was so relieved” that his character, who suffered from bipolar disorder, did not “kill himself, or go out in a manic frenzy.” Added Vernoff, “He was excited to play it — he played the hell out of it. He actually does appear in a couple more episodes this season. And he’s directing an episode.”

How will the rest of the Grey Sloan Memorial staff handle DeLuca’s death? Tune in to Grey’s Anatomy every Thursday at 9/8c on ABC to find out.

Where to stream Grey's Anatomy