‘Chappelle’s Show’ is Back on Netflix with Dave Chappelle’s Blessing

He’s baaaack. Early Friday morning, Dave Chappelle‘s Chappelle’s Show returned to Netflix following a brief dispute over streaming rights and payment. Chappelle announced that the Chappelle Show  Netflix negotiation had come to an end during a 10-minute performance titled Redemption Song released Thursday, and in the hours since, the news has invigorated fans, many of whom have been eagerly awaiting the Chappelle Show return since late November.

If this is the first you’re hearing about the Chappelle’s Show Netflix drama, buckle up. What did the comic say in Dave Chappelle: Redemption Song? How much did Comedy Central pay Dave Chappelle? Here’s everything you need to know about this confusing streaming controversy.

DAVE CHAPPELLE NETFLIX DISPUTE: WHAT HAPPENED TO  CHAPPELLE’S SHOW?

Just a few months ago, on November 1, 2020, Chappelle’s Show finally hit Netflix, nearly 15 years after it concluded on Comedy Central. The series streamed for just a few weeks before Chappelle asked for it to be removed due to a contract dispute. As Chappelle tells it, he was never paid by ViacomCBS, Comedy Central’s parent company, after Chappelle’s Show concluded and was not informed that the show had been licensed to third parties like Netflix.

“When I found out they were streaming Chappelle’s Show, I was furious,” said Chapelle in a stand-up set with the title Unforgiven. “How could they not — how could they not know? So you know what I did? I called them and I told them that this makes me feel bad. And you want to know what they did? They agreed that they would take it off their platform just so I could feel better.”

On November 24, Netflix (and later WarnerMedia’s HBO Max) officially removed Chappelle’s Show from its platform, and until now, it was unclear if it would ever return.

CHAPPELLE SHOW RETURN: DAVE CHAPPELLE: REDEMPTION SONG EXPLAINS IT ALL

Late Thursday night, Chappelle posted an Instagram video titled Redemption Song in which he discusses the dispute during a live set. “I never asked Comedy Central for anything. If you remember I said, ‘I’m going to my real boss,’ and I came to you, because I know where my power lies,” he told the audience. “I asked you to stop watching the show and thank God almighty for you, you did.”

“You made that show worthless because without your eyes, it’s nothing,” he continued. “And when you stopped watching it they called me. And I got my name back. And I got my license back, and I got my show back, and they paid me millions of dollars. Thank you very much.”

HOW MUCH DID COMEDY CENTRAL PAY DAVE CHAPPELLE?

Unfortunately, Chappelle didn’t provide any additional details about his payment from Comedy Central beyond the “millions of dollars” remark. However, regardless of the total figure, it seems like Chappelle is very happy with the check.

“I want to thank Chris McCarthy of CBS Viacom. This guy’s younger than me. And like most people younger than me has an interest in making the past right, and did something that was very courageous,” he told the live audience. “And finally, after all these years, I can finally say that Comedy Central, it’s been a pleasure doing business with you.”

WHERE TO WATCH CHAPPELLE SHOW: NETFLIX AND HBO MAX INFO

Thanks to the deal, two complete seasons of Chappelle’s Show are now streaming (again!) on Netflix. As of press time, the sketch comedy series is still unavailable on HBO Max, but it’s possible that it will be added in the days to come.

Where to stream Chappelle's Show