Claudia Conway Will Appear in the ‘American Idol’ Season 19 Premiere

Claudia Conway will fight for a golden ticket to Hollywood on the new season of American Idol. In a promo for American Idol Season 19 released Monday night, the 16-year-old daughter of former Trump adviser Kellyanne Conway and Lincoln Project co-founder can be seen auditioning before the judges, who seem slightly critical of her performance. Does Claudia Conway have the talent to be the next  American Idol?

Conway, a TikTok and Twitter sensation, has been teasing a potential appearance on American Idol Season 19 since November, when she posted a video of her inside the show’s confessional booth, but it remained unconfirmed until Monday night. “You heard that right,” tweeted the show’s official Twitter account, alongside a promo of her audition. “Claudia Conway is looking for a golden ticket. Find out Sunday if she has what it takes to be #TheNextIdol.”

The 30-second teaser provides a brief introduction to Conway, who made a name for herself online by publicly denouncing her Republican parents. “She’s a social media sensation,” says host Ryan Seacrest, via voiceover. “But will she get a ticket to Hollywood?”

If the video is any indication, Conway doesn’t shy away from mentioning her parents during her  American Idol audition. “I’m Claudia Conway. My parents are high profile political figures,” she tells the judges, as images of Kellyanne and George flash behind her. But will it matter? “We want an American Idol,” warns Katy Perry, as Conway quietly nods her head. Ominous!

According to Variety, Conway addressed the American Idol promo in a video posted on TikTok late Monday. “I know I made a video in November saying I was auditioning. I did audition and it will be on air this Sunday, Feb. 14. I’ve been singing my whole life, I grew up in musical theater. Music has been one of the pillars in my life and I wouldn’t be here without it,” she says. “I play about eight instruments. I’ve just been doing it since I could walk. They saw a video I posted as a joke of me singing and they were like, ‘Hey, do you want to audition?’ and I was like, ‘Oh shit, yeah.’ Because who wouldn’t? So everyone thinks that this is a publicity stunt or me trying to be like, whatever, but no — music is my passion.”

Interested in watching Claudia Conway on American Idol? Tune in to ABC this Sunday, February 14 at 8/7c to see how she fares on the music competition series.

Where to stream American Idol