Is ‘I May Destroy You’ Season 2 In the Works at HBO?

Fans of I May Destroy You were shocked yesterday when the hit HBO series was snubbed by the Golden Globes. Thankfully, Michaela Coel‘s critically-acclaimed drama got recognition when today’s SAG Awards were announced, with the star and creator nominated for Best Female Actor in a Television Movie or Limited Series categoryWith all of the awards buzz surrounding I May Destroy You, fans are wondering: will I May Destroy You return for Season 2 at HBO?

Looking back at interviews with the I May Destroy You cast, it sounds like a second season of the show is pretty unlikely, despite its massive success. Back in July, Coel hinted that once viewers reached the I May Destroy You finale, they’d would have a better understanding of why she’s not continuing her series. “I don’t want to give anything away. But I think when you see the final episode, you’ll know,” she told The Hollywood Reporter.

Series star Harriet Webb (Theo) said in a separate interview with Metro that she hadn’t discussed Season 2 with Coel. “I took it as a piece of work as it is,” she said, adding that she’d “be surprised” if I May Destroy You returned for a second season.

In an August interview with Vulture, Coel explained that her show wasn’t always destined for its home on HBO. When the I May Destroy You creator was first pitching her show back in 2017, she was offered $1 million from another streaming giant, Netflix, but turned down the company’s offer because the deal wouldn’t allow her to retain any of the copyright on the series. Coel had previously worked with the streamer on projects like Chewing Gum, Been So Long, and Black Mirror, but left for BBC/HBO and took I May Destroy You with her.

While it sounds like I May Destroy You won’t be carrying on at HBO, the legacy of the show is sure to outlast its singular season. “Hopefully, we’ll come back to this show in 10 years and feel that it’s dated and that we’ve progressed in our collective understanding around sex, consent, gender and race,” Paapa Essiedu (Kwame) told The Los Angeles Times.

I May Destroy You is now available to watch in full on HBO and HBO Max.

Where to watch I May Destroy You