Allison Janney Stuns the Property Brothers With Her Dramatic ‘Celebrity I.O.U.’ Appearance

Allison Janney isn’t afraid to mix glam and gritty — who else would show up to an episode of the Property Brothers’ Celebrity I.O.U. in a ballgown and construction boots? The West Wing actress is the latest star to join Drew and Jonathan Scott on their HGTV spinoff show that features celebrities gifting home renovations as a way to give back to people who’ve helped them along the way.

While plenty of big names have stopped by the home improvement show in the past, including Brad Pitt and Zooey Deschanel, Janney’s appearance is stirring up renewed appreciation for the actress on Twitter, where some are even calling her a “national treasure” after seeing a clip of her Celebrity I.O.U. cameo.

And who could blame them? Janney takes Drew and Jonathan by surprise with an entrance fit for the movie star she is, strolling in wearing a backless gown accessorized by the finest safety equipment and asking the brothers, “Read to bust up some shit?” Picking up a sledgehammer like she’s an old pro, Janney tells them, “I do my best work when I’m dressed to the nines.” Janney then puts her skills to use, smashing down a cabinet door and making sure to “work the angles” while she’s at it.

“I’m calling on the federal government to seize The Property Brothers’ show and give it to Allison Janney,” one twitter user wrote. Another added, “Allison Janney really said ‘oh, you thought you were DONE being in love with me after you finished West Wing?????'”

In Janney’s episode, she gives back to her assistant and close friend of 20 years, Ilana, who’s in need of a fresh update to her kitchen, dining room and living area. “She has become more like family to me than anything else and she’s given a lot to me over the years,” Janney said. “I feel like this is a wonderful opportunity for me to do something lovely for her. She’s just a giver and it’s hard to make her receive.”

When the project is complete, Janney and the Scott brothers transform Ilana’s home and add an oversized kitchen island, a custom refrigerated wine cabinet and a sleek, stone fireplace to give her and her husband more room to entertain. “To do this for Ilana feels right,” Janney added. “It feels really good to give to someone like her who’s been there for me in ways I would have never expected.”

Allison Janney’s episode of Celebrity I.O.U. is now airing on HGTV. Watch the full clip from her episode above.

Where to watch Celebrity I.O.U