HBO Max Follows Netflix’s Lead, Plans to Remove ‘Chappelle’s Show’

Shorty after Netflix pulled Dave Chappelle‘s comedy series, Variety reports that HBO Max is planning to do the same. Casey Bloys, chief content officer of HBO and HBO Max, revealed during Variety’s Virtual FYCFest that Chappelle’s Show will no longer be available to stream on HBO Max come 2021, per the comedian’s request.

“We had a conversation with Dave. I won’t get into it, but it’s very clear that it’s a very unique and specific and emotional issue he’s got,” Bloys said. “So at the end of the year, at the end of this year, December 31st, we’re going to honor his request and take the show down.”

HBO Max’s decision to take down Chappelle’s Show comes just weeks after Netflix removed all three seasons of the Comedy Central series from their library less than a month after adding them. At the time, Chappelle shared the news in a video on his Instagram account titled “Unforgiven” featuring footage from a recent stand-up routine. In the bit, Chappelle explained that he never made money off of his show after ViacomCBS  licensed the series.

“They [ViacomCBS] didn’t have to pay me because I signed the contract,” Chappelle said in the video. “But is that right? I found out that these people were streaming my work and they never had to ask me or they never have to tell me. Perfectly legal ’cause I signed the contract. But is that right? I didn’t think so either.”

Chappelle, who has multiple Netflix exclusive specials, went on to praise the streaming service for taking the show down. “I called them [Netflix] and I told them that this makes me feel bad. And you want to know what they did? They agreed that they would take it off their platform just so I could feel better,” he said.

While Chappelle’s Show is now unavailable on both Netflix and HBO Max, the series remains available to stream on Comedy Central and CBS All Access. But Chappelle still urges viewers not to watch his series if they consider themselves his fans. “I’m coming to you. I’m begging you — if you ever liked me, if you ever think there was anything worthwhile about me, I’m begging you, please don’t watch that show,” he said. “I’m not asking you to boycott any network — boycott me. Boycott Chappelle’s Show. Do not watch it unless they pay me.”

Where to watch Chappelle's Show