Indya Moore on ‘Pose’ Emmys Snub: “Imagine If We Depended on Cis Ppl to Validate Anything About Us”

Pose has been on air for over two years and has received plenty of awards recognition, but its trans cast members continue to be snubbed by the Emmys. When this year’s Emmy nominations were announced this morning, both Indya Moore and Angelica Ross were noticeably missing from the list of nominees, but the actors weren’t going to let the slight slip by without addressing it.

Moore, who stars as Pose‘s Angel, and Ross, who plays Candy on the series, reacted to Emmy nominations on social media, expressing their disappointment about being left out of the list for the second year in a row. Janet Mock, a director and executive producer on Pose who is also trans, was excluded from today’s nominations, too.

“I cNt tell nobody I deserve their sht,” Moore wrote on Twitter. “I didn’t invent the academy or any of the award shows. If they think my work is unworthy Chile that’s just that,” adding, “Imagine if we depended on cis ppl to validate anything about us.”

“Something abt trans ppl not being honored on a show abt trans ppl who created a culture to honor ourselves bc the world doesn’t,” she wrote.

Ross addressed the nominations on Instagram, posting an emotional video that began in tears. “Ultimately, I need you to understand that I am so tired,” she said, per the Los Angeles Times. “Because those of you that know me know that I’m not just working in front of the screen or behind the lens or whatever. I’m working around the clock to get our society to value trans lives and Black trans lives. And listen, I feel what I feel because I feel like there is nothing we can do.”

Pose did secure some Emmy nominations this year, with Billy Porter snagging the lead actor nomination after his historic win last year. The series was not nominated for Best Drama, but did receive recognition for makeup, hair styling and costume design.

Executive producer and Pose creator Steve Canals addressed the snubs on Twitter today, too, giving a shoutout to Pose actor MJ Rodriguez (Blanca), who also did not make the list of nominees.

“Okay, real talk… what does @MjRodriguez7 have to do – aside from baring her heart & pouring her soul into every damn scene – to get a Best Actress nomination?!” Canals wrote.

Where to watch Pose