Whoopi Goldberg and Meghan McCain Throw Down Over Mitt Romney: “You Are Half My Age!”

After a few drama-free weeks on The View, it was only a matter of time before tensions boiled over. On Thursday morning, Whoopi Goldberg and Meghan McCain got into it during a discussion about Sen. Mitt Romney, who was the sole Republican to vote to convict President Trump in his impeachment trial. When Goldberg compared Romney to the late Sen. John McCain, the conservative co-host corrected her, saying that the Utah senator is “nothing like [her] dad.” Goldberg absolutely exploded, firing back, “I have been going through this with these people for years … You’re half my age!”

It didn’t take long for things to get rolling on Thursday morning. The Romney discussion was first on the docket, and the co-hosts praised him for putting country over party. “I’m glad someone from that side stood up and said, ‘This is not right,'” said Goldberg. “I may have to take back every joke I ever made about Romney,” added Joy Behar.

At first, McCain agreed, and she applauded his bravery. “I like when anyone bucks a party. I will always respect it. I think it took big cojones to do that,” she said. “But it doesn’t take much profiles in courage right now to vote against something that is not going to have any impact.” She questioned whether Romney would have made the same decision “if Trump had given him the Secretary of State position,” before noting his “history as a flip-flopper.”

“I’m just glad that somebody stood up and said no, finally,” replied Goldberg. “I’m going to give faith in him like I gave to your dad.” McCain didn’t take the compliment. “With all due respect, Mitt Romney is nothing like my dad,” she said, earning a stern look from Goldberg in response. “I’m just saying, don’t put all your bets on Romney right now. He will break your heart like he always does.”

“Listen, I am 63 years old. I have been going through this with these people for years,” fired back The View‘s longtime moderator. When McCain snidely replied that she’s 35 years old, Goldberg officially blew up. “Yes, and you’re half my age! So hear what I know!” said Goldberg.

“That’s very dismissive,” replied McCain. “I don’t understand what my age has to do with my political perspective right now. I just don’t think it’s very nice.”

The women began to talk over each other, but Goldberg insisted that she wanted to finish. “This has nothing to do, personally, with you,” she said. “This has to do with the fact that when you say to me, ‘Don’t put all your eggs in the basket,’ that’s dismissive to me.”

Cue more yelling about who hates which politicians. “Wait a minute! I’ve never hated anybody,” said Goldberg. McCain insisted that Behar “hated Mitt Romney,” but she was shut down. “That’s not me!” said Goldberg. “I know we look alike.”

Finally, it was time for a commercial break. At that point, everyone, including the viewers, desperately needed it. Who knew that a simple compliment about John McCain could send things skidding off the rails?

Watch The View‘s contentious Mitt Romney discussion in the clip above.

Where to stream The View