‘Game Of Thrones’ Creator George RR Martin Says HBO Ending Won’t Influence Plot Of Remaining Two Books

Game of Thrones creator George RR Martin has spoken out about his remaining two novels and how the TV series ending won’t influence his plans for the plot as it pertains to the ending of his book series. This is despite the fact that some possible endings have already been explored on the HBO television show based on the direction of his books.

During a recent interview with The Guardian, Martin reaffirmed that the television adaptation as a whole had not been “very good” for him, and confirmed that the TV endings won’t influence his ideas for the remaining two novels in the popular GoT series.

Many fans agree with Martin that HBO botched the ending of the epic series, casting blame at David Benioff and D.B. Weiss. An online petition calling for a rewrite on the final season received massive support with over a million signatures.

“Of course HBO are going to change the whole thing, “ joked Nikolaj Coster-Waldau during a recent San Diego Comic-Con panel featuring the cast of the show who pleaded with fans to take it easy on the creators.

The now 70-year-old Martin spoke to his writing delay in reference to the remaining novels of the series, blaming the TV show and his new-found celebrity status for his creative slow-down.

“The very thing that should have speeded me up actually slowed me down. Every day I sat down to write and even if I had a good day … I’d feel terrible because I’d be thinking: ‘My God, I have to finish the book. I’ve only written four pages when I should have written 40.’”

He said he had to separate himself from the online complaints and fan theories about the TV show.

“I took myself out of all that … some of [the theories] are right and some of [the theories] are wrong. They’ll find out when I finish,” he said.

Martin also said the joy of interacting with fans of the show is pretty much gone for him, stating “I don’t want to go to a party where an unending succession of people want to take selfies with me, because that’s not fun the way it was in the old days. That’s work.”

Martin also says that even something as simple as shopping is no longer enjoyable for him.

“I mean, I can’t go into a bookstore any more, and that used to be my favorite thing to do in the world,” said Martin. “To go in and wander from stack to stack, take down some books, read a little, leave with a big stack of things I’d never heard of when I came in. Now when I go to a bookstore, I get recognized within 10 minutes and there’s a crowd around me. So you gain a lot but you also lose things.”

Michael is a music and television junkie keen on most things that are not a complete and total bore. You can follow him on Twitter@Tweetskoor

STREAM GAME OF THRONES ON HBO NOW