Lamar Odom Claims Brothel Owner Dennis Hof “Tried to Poison” Him

This morning on The View, former NBA player Lamar Odom made a stunning accusation when he claimed that Dennis Hof, owner of the Bunny Love Ranch where Odom was found unconscious in 2015, “tried to kill” him. When asked about the incident that left him clinging to life, Odom said that he “didn’t do drugs that night,” as rumors suggested, and added that while he can’t prove Hof’s involvement (co-host Sunny Hostin said that ABC News was also unable to verify the allegation), his “lawyer has workers at the brothel that said [the owner] tried” to poison him. Odom repeats the shocking claim in his new book, Darkness to Light: A Memoir, which takes a hard look at his struggle with drug and sex addiction, his marriage to Khloe Kardashian, and his grief over losing his mother, grandmother, and six-month-old son.

During the second half of Odom’s interview, Moderator Whoopi Goldberg asked about the 2015 Nevada brothel visit that left him dangerously close to death. “You OD’d, pretty much, and almost left the planet,” said Goldberg. Odom took a deep breath before diving in. “Dennis Hof, I don’t know what he had against me,” he said. “But I didn’t do drugs that night, to be honest with you. So I don’t know if he tried to poison me.”

Co-host Joy Behar, who clearly didn’t read the book, jumped in to ask who Odom was talking about, and he clarified that Hof was “the owner of the brothel” in question. “I don’t know what he had against me,” repeated Odom, much to the co-hosts’ shock. “Maybe it was fatigue?” suggested Goldberg. “He tried to poison you?” asked Meghan McCain. The former NBA player was clear. “No,” said Odom. “He tried to kill me.”

Odom went on to say that he “can’t” prove that Hof had nefarious intentions (the Nevada native passed away at the Bunny Love Ranch in October 2018), but his attorneys are working on finding evidence against the brothel owner and former Cathouse star. “My lawyer has workers at the brothel that said he tried,” said Odom. “He almost succeeded, though.”

“We weren’t able to verify it at ABC News, but in your book, you say you don’t remember taking drugs or anything,” said Hostin. “I didn’t. I’ve been at odds with my daughter about this,” he replied. “Because she’s like, ‘Leave it alone.’ But I would like to clear my name.”

Watch Lamar Odom discuss Dennis Hof in the clip above.

Where to stream The View