‘The Flash’ Star Grant Gustin Claps Back at Body Shamers

It’s the first question superhero fans want an answer to when they learn their fave is gonna appear in live-action: what’s the costume gonna look like? leaked look at the Flash’s super suitIn the case of TV heroes, like the ones in the CW’s DC lineup, that question gets a new answer every year as new seasons introduce updated costumes. But a recent for the upcoming fifth season stirred up a lot of, to put it lightly, comments.

Fans said that the Flash looked way too skinny and made a whole lotta critiques about the superheroes physique–comments that The Flash star Grant Gustin did not take lightly. He posted a response to the leaked photo and harsh response on his Instagram page.

“So here’s the thing about this bullshit photo leak,” wrote Gustin. “It’s a cool suit. That’s a terrible photo that I was unaware was being taken, much less being posted.” He then addressed the haters: “As far as the body shaming. That’s what pisses me off. Not even just for my sake. I’ve had 20+ years of kids and adults telling me or my parents I was too thin. I’ve had my own journey of accepting it.”

Gustin called out the double standard that exists wherein people think it’s okay to say negative things about a man’s body, and he called out that that is also not okay. “I do my best to stay in shape and add as much size as I can through out these seasons. I’m naturally thin, and my appetite is greatly affected by stress.” He added that “gaining weight is a challenge,” but he’s now at a place in his life where he is happy with his body. “I’m happy with my body and who I am and other kids who are built like me and thinner than me should be able to feel the same way.”

The actor added that the leaked shot was of an early design and more tweaks have been made to the suit, and more tweaks will continue to be made. But that’s beside the point; the point is, don’t drag anyone, even a superhero, because of how their body looks.

You can read Gustin’s full statement below.

View this post on Instagram

Read this if you have good enough eyes.

A post shared by Grant Gustin (@grantgust) on

 

(via USA Today)

Where to stream The Flash