‘Bachelorette’ Becca Kufrin Defends Garrett Yrigoyen in Middle of Controversy

If you’re going to be on a nationally beloved reality show, you better make sure your social accounts are squeaky clean. Bachelorette frontrunner Garrett Yrigoyen did not follow that sage advice, and now Becca Kufrin has been yet again dragged into a scandal caused by a Bachelor-franchise man who seems unable to think before he acts.

Yrigoyen quickly established himself as a frontrunner for this season of the Bachelorette. But while the first episodes of the Bachelorette were playing, fans were cyberstalking. It was discovered that the medical sales rep from Nevada had liked a series of offensive Instagram posts which mocked undocumented immigrants, feminists, and the trans community. Yrigoyen also liked a post that spread misinformation about one of the Parkland shooting survivors.

Typically, Bachelor and Bachelorette contestants don’t speak out while their season is shooting, but Yrigoyen broke his silence by issuing a long apology on Instagram. “I am not perfect, and I will never be anywhere close, but now I will always be more informed and aware of what I am liking and supporting, not just on Instagram, but in life,” he wrote.

So now Becca Kufrin, the Bachelor contestant who was proposed to and broken up with on live TV, has to deal with this nonsense instead of promoting her season and her own happy love story. In an interview with The Hollywood Reporter, Kufrin spoke out about Yrigoyen’s apology. “If that’s what he felt like he needed to do, then that’s what he needed to do,” she said. “For me, these past weeks, I’ve just really been focused on my journey and trying to promote the show. It’s still just the very beginning, and I’m just excited for people to see the rest of it. Again, I just want everyone to stay open to me and to the 28 guys who came on it with me.”

Kufrin then restated that viewers should stay “open to all of the guys” and confirmed that Arie Luyendyk Jr. would be making an in-person appearance this season. I’ve never seen a full episode of The Bachelor or The Bachelorette in my life and even I want the world for this woman. Here’s hoping that engagement sticks this time.

Where to stream The Bachelorette