‘27 Dresses’ Could Be A TV Show — And Sooner Than You Think

Where to Stream:

27 Dresses

Powered by Reelgood

Last week, we celebrated the 10 year anniversary of 27 Dresses, a film that is entirely worthy of its place in the Rom-Com Hall of Fame (wait, is that a real thing because it needs to be!). In speaking with the film’s writer, Aline Brosh McKenna, and producer (and current president of MGM) Jonathan Glickman, we learned a major fact about the film: that it could live on in TV form, in the not so distant future. So in case you missed this one, let it be known: 27 Dresses could be a TV show!

While she’s currently the co-creator of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, McKenna revealed she has been trying to adapt the story for the small screen as well. “I’ve been working on it with Jon [Glickman] and trying to figure out what the proper home for it is and the proper way to do it. I actually think that of the things I’ve written, it’s the one that lends itself most naturally to that because it really is a coming of age, and I think it would play well over time. I would love to do that, and I’ve been trying to figure out the exact right auspices under which to do it.” Pay attention, streaming services: the 27 Dresses TV show could be yours!

McKenna also points to the current wedding industry as a reason the show would have an automatic audience. “I think it’s even more current than it [was] then because the wedding industry has just exploded. The amount of things that you can spend money on and the amount of things that people are asked to spend money on has just really solidly shot up.”

Plus, in the age of the #MeToo movement, and women across all industries including the entertainment business standing up for their rights and equal pay, a 27 Dresses show could have a lot of timely material to work with. “The core thing about it, which I always loved, is learning to stand up for yourself as a woman and say, ‘No, I’m not going to extend myself and do this favor for you’ and risking not being likable is something that women still struggle with. That to me was always the heart and soul of it, and I think that’s something that continues to be relevant. I think that women learning to stand up for themselves and say, ‘This is how I feel and these are my boundaries and this is what I will and won’t do’ is also just as relevant as it was 10 years ago.”

Glickman also explained of the story’s TV potential, “We co-own the rights, and so we’ve talked about it. It has to be the right situation. There’s a lot of factors that have to play into it. But there’s definitely a life for the film, because people love it so much. We’ve even thought of it potentially as a stage show over the years. Who knows? Maybe there will be some crazy graphic novel made in the future. I don’t think we’ve seen the end of the 27 Dresses story being told.”

Read our full 27 Dresses 10 year anniversary celebration here!

Where to watch 27 Dresses