James Franco Responds To Sexual Misconduct Allegations In An Interview With Stephen Colbert

Star and recent Golden Globe winner James Franco has now responded to the sexual misconduct rumors floating around him. During an interview on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, Franco acknowledged that he’s heard about the rumors, which began surfacing on Twitter the night on the Golden Globes. The actor denied them but expressed his support of unheard voices in Hollywood.

“I haven’t read them. I’ve heard about them,” Franco said of the allegations. After Frano won the Golden Globe for best actor in a musical or comedy for his role in The Disaster Artist, actress Ally Sheedy started to tweet about Franco. “James Franco just won. Please never ever ask me why I left the film/tv business,” one tweet read. Sheedy worked with Franco on the 2014 play The Long Shrift. However, despite these tweets receiving a large amount of attention both online and through digital media, Sheedy has yet to elaborate on her Franco story. The actress known for her role in The Breakfast Club deleted her tweet soon after she posted them.

“First of all, I have no idea what I did to Ally Sheedy. I directed her in a play off Broadway,” Franco told Stephen Colbert. “I had nothing but a great time with her, total respect for her. I have no idea why she was upset. She took the tweet down. I don’t know.”

He then continued. “The things that I heard, that were on Twitter are not accurate, but I completely support people coming out and being able to have a voice because they didn’t have a voice for so long,” he said. “I don’t what to shut them down in any way. I think it’s a good thing and I support it.”

Colbert then asked Franco a follow up question. “Do you have any idea of what the answer might be to come to some sense of what the truth is so there can be some kind of reconciliation between two people who clearly have a different view of things?”

After hesitating for a while, Franco finally answered.“If there’s restitution to be made, I will make it. If I’ve done something wrong, I will fix it,” he said. In the wake of these allegations, the New York Times has cancelled an event with Franco.

This marks the second time in recent months a late night host has called out a celebrity for sexual misconduct allegations. During a panel for Wag the Dog, John Oliver tore into Dustin Hoffman about the allegations surrounding the A-list actor. Let this be a lesson to everyone in Hollywood. If you think you’re safe from the cozy conventions of entertainment journalism, you’re not. If you think you’re safe from late night banter, you’re not. If you’re part of or perceived to be part of Hollywood’s sexual harassment problem, you will be asked about it, so get ready. You can watch Franco’s interview with Colbert above.

Where to stream The Late Show with Stephen Colbert