More From Decider

Lea Palmieri’s 10 Favorite Things Of 2017

Where to Stream:

Imposters

Powered by Reelgood

Even 2017 would admit to herself that she was a total hot mess of a year. But deep in the never-ending garbage dump of a year, were teeny tiny gems that shone through and saved our sanity. I’m happy to call these mine.

A big part of what 2017 required was mostly avoiding the real world and the shitstorm of news that came along with it. I was transfixed by a new scripted series from Bravo, a network I hardly ever switch away from, which supplied me with reliably ridiculous Real Housewives this year as well.

I haven’t stopped laughing at a superstar athlete’s pitch perfect tweet (and subsequent press conference statement about said tweet) since it blessed my timeline in September, and there is a specific actor/dancer who made the entire experience of Instagram worthwhile this year. Oh, and then there was that time I learned what an Emo Night is and immediately became obsessed.

It feels as though I’ve spent more time with James Franco (and Dave, for that matter) than I have with my close family members this year, and I’m totally ok with that. Plus, the dancing, the laughing, and the badass bitches that made this year worth living and watching, are the gems I expect to keep me going through 2018 as well. I love you all, xo Lea.

1

'Imposters'

Bravo’s new scripted series was a wonderful surprise, thrilling and dark and funny and shocking throughout its entire first season. Following a con woman, and the people she fucked over along the way, play a cat and mouse game with each other across the country made for one of the most unique and exciting shows of the year. Imposters was the perfect escape: a sexy ride that helped viewers live out their own revenge fantasies and kept us guessing along the way. I simply could not shut up about this show and I’m not about to start now: binge season one because season two is coming very, very soon.

Where to watch Imposters

2

LeBron James: "U Bum"

Just when I thought LeBron’s perfect tweet, hands-down the best one of the year, couldn’t get any better, this press conference happened. “U bum” is the best insult you could possibly fling at someone, so good that its recipient clearly does not even deserve it. But it was the perfect balance of disrespect and silliness to lob at the “bum” in question. And then to follow it up with this display, the smirk across his face when he challenges the reporter, “What’d I say? Let me hear you say it,” the “I’m not his friend though,” clarification, and the powerful message he relayed about being a role model and a leader. This year, LeBron was anything but a bum.

3

'The Disaster Artist' Press Tour

I could, and have, spent hours watching James Franco slip in and out of that Tommy Wiseau impression. The Disaster Artist premiered in the spring at SXSW, officially kicked off its press tour this past September at the Toronto International Film Festival, and has been going strong through this month’s release in theaters. Franco is fantastic in the film, but the enthusiasm he has for talking about this project and for laughing about his experiences with Wiseau, never ever gets old. The whole cast is stacked with such great comedic actors (Dave Franco, Alison Brie, Ari Graynor, Seth Rogen) that every interview has been entertaining and ridiculous and a true reflection of what a fun film this turned out to be.

4

'Girls Trip' Dance-Off

First of all, I love a dance-off. They should be used to solve all of the world’s problems: we simply line up and battle with our body moves.

I was regrettably late to seeing this film, which really did prove to be quite a hoot, and yet the fact that this dance battle occurs — and to Missy Elliot’s “She’s a Bitch”! — was not spoiled for me, serves as one of 2017’s small miracles, and also so incredibly fun to watch. Seeing the ladies get down in their multicolored wigs was the perfect reminder that I need to get my own posse together to rehearse some choreographed moves, just in case we find ourselves in a situation where we have to bust them out on a dance floor in 2018.

Where to watch Girls Trip

5

'The Little Hours' Trailer

It’s hard to believe a gem like this slipped under the radar a bit this year. I saw The Little Hours after a truly stressful and bummer of a day, and it made me laugh so much it turned my mood right around. But the truly impressive feat is the trailer, from the use of Junglepussy’s “Bling Bling” to my very favorite quote to ever appear in a film trailer from the Catholic League, the absolute debauchery and originality (despite the fact that it’s based on The Decameron) of this film is truly captured in two minutes. Director Jeff Baena assembled an A++ cast for a film unlike any you’ve ever seen, and it’s totally worth watching…after you stare at the trailer like 10 times in a row or so.

Where to watch The Little Hours

6

Netflix's Unique Comedy Specials

Netflix released, arguably, too many comedy specials this year. Some were fine, some there just wasn’t enough time to watch, and some shone through like beautiful beams of light in the comedy community. Comedians used their stage and the streaming platform to get real, to tell sensitive stories, and to redefine what a stand-up special could really be. And one in particular, simply had way too much tuna. Neal Brennan’s 3 Mics was so moving, effective, and silly, I found myself recommending it to people all year long.

I saw Hasan Minaj’s Homecoming King in person about two years ago, but reliving it on-screen was nothing short of the delightful, charming surprise I suspected it would be. With each rewatch, I laugh at all the same parts and feel my throat get just a little bit tighter at the touching moments, but then I’m laughing again within seconds.

And finally, the absurdity of Oh, Hello On Broadway simply never gets old. The comedic bond these two geezers share on stage is unlike any other, and I’m happy something so weird and funny will live on Netflix forever.

Where to watch Neal Brennan: 3 Mics

Where to watch Hasan Minhaj: Homecoming King

Where to watch Oh, Hello On Broadway

7

Demi Lovato Goes To Emo Night

There’s a lot to unpack from this moment in Demi Lovato: Simply Complicated, the singer’s documentary that dropped on YouTube in October. First of all, Emo Night is a thing that exists. Second, Demi Lovato attends it. Third, she probably did not intend for me to watch her documentary and immediately listen to Paramore on repeat, but that is precisely what happened.

After a minor technical difficulty, the original track drops out and Demi is left to sing the vocals herself into a microphone in the middle of a room of Hot Topic-clad emo-lovers. Hearing the entire crowd belt out the lyrics will give you goosebumps and remind you what a JAM that song is. While she spends the doc opening up about her struggles with drugs and eating disorders and dating, this moment is the true revelation of the whole film.

Where to watch Demi Lovato: Simply Complicated

8

TV's Badass Bitches

There was no shortage of amazing female storytelling and female characters on TV this year and I simply loved it. The Handmaid’s Tale was such a thrill, Crazy Ex-Girlfriend went places we never could’ve imagined, and SMILF broke out as one of my absolute favorite shows of the year. FEUD was so damn haunting and Insecure was as great as it’s always been, and I’m thankful for every one of those shows portraying interesting, dynamic females, along with their struggles and friendships and laughs.

Broad City gets a special shoutout for their genius “Witches” episode, with Ilana on the quest for an orgasm in these troubled times, and Girls delivered something really special with “American Bitch.” But the best part about all of this, is knowing that even more incredible, females will be delivering stories to the screen in 2018.

Where to watch Broad City "Witches"

Where to watch Girls "American Bitch"

9

Real Housewives

View this post on Instagram

Major celeb sighting at @bravowwhl 🐰

A post shared by Lea Palmieri (@littleleap) on

I watched…a lot of Real Housewives this year. It was comforting and ridiculous and an excellent way to avoid news or the real world. And while Bethenny singlehandedly saved Puerto Rico, and should be celebrated for it, the rest of the women took my mind off any real troubles and replaced them with an argument about the “vibes” of a stuffed rabbit. Let me tell you, seeing that stupid rabbit in the Watch What Happens Live clubhouse, after being passed back and forth between Lisa Rinna and Kim Richards, was my favorite celebrity sighting of the year. Each of the cities had some fun moments this year that I delighted in discussing with some of my best friends. And the best part was, knowing I’m not alone in my enjoyment of this reality show, based on this here clip of Dorinda surprising Sarah Paulson and Elisabeth Moss on WWHL.

Where to watch The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills

10

Kenny Wormald's Instagram

Actor, dancer, and co-founder of Playground LA Kenny Wormald knows he can count on at least one like on all of his Instagram videos featuring him dancing. That’s me. Every time. The way his body moves like a smooth, coordinated spaghetti noodle seems to break all laws of physics, and I watch these on a loop every damn time. Kenny’s dancing proves to be sexy, athletic, and just so freaking fun, granting him an automatic like on the majority of his Instagram posts. Thank you and you’re welcome, Kenny, and just keep dancing please.