Meryl Streep Targeted By Poster Campaign Saying “She Knew” About Harvey Weinstein’s Misconduct

An anonymous street artist (or artists) have targeted Meryl Streep with a series of posters accusing the actress of lying about her knowledge of movie producer Harvey Weinstein’s long history of sexual misconduct.

As reported by The Hollywood Reporter, the posters popped up on Tuesday morning and show a photo of Streep next to Weinstein with the words “She knew” in a red box dropped across her eyes. The three posters were placed near Streep’s Pasadena home, the SAG-AFTRA building, and the 20th Century Fox studio lot. Streep’s upcoming film The Post was produced by Fox.

Back in October, Streep released a statement on Harvey Weinstein calling his behavior “inexcusable” and saying “not everybody knew. Harvey supported the work fiercely, was exasperating but respectful with me in our working relationship, and with many others with whom he worked professionally. I didn’t know about these other offenses: I did not know about his financial settlements with actresses and colleagues; I did not know about his having meetings in his hotel room, his bathroom, or other inappropriate, coercive acts. And If everybody knew, I don’t believe that all the investigative reporters in the entertainment and the hard news media would have neglected for decades to write about it.”

Rose McGowan, one of Weinstein’s accusers, took issue with Streep’s decision to wear black to the upcoming Golden Globes as a sign of silent protest. A now-deleted tweet from McGowan read, “Actresses, like Meryl Streep, who happily worked for The Pig Monster, are wearing black @GoldenGlobes in a silent protest. YOUR SILENCE is THE problem. You’ll accept a fake award breathlessly and affect no real change. I despise your hypocrisy. Maybe you should all wear Marchesa.”

Following McGowan’s comments, Streep issued a reply:

“I want to let her know I did not know about Weinstein’s crimes, not in the ‘90s when he attacked her, or through subsequent decades when he proceeded to attack others,” Streep told the Huffington Post. “I wasn’t deliberately silent. I didn’t know. I don’t tacitly approve of rape. I didn’t know.”