Today In TV History: Aaron Sorkin Made A Cameo On ‘Entourage’

Where to Stream:

Entourage

Powered by Reelgood

Of all the great things about television, the greatest is that it’s on every single day. TV history is being made, day in and day out, in ways big and small. In an effort to better appreciate this history, we’re taking a look back, every day, at one particular TV milestone. 

IMPORTANT DATE IN TV HISTORY: August 30, 2009

WHY IT’S IMPORTANT: The eighth episode of the sixth season features Aaron Sorkin, the famed screenwriter and producer, in his first of two appearances on Entourage. When Ari’s (Jeremy Piven) firm wants to get Sorkin as a client, their only hope is Andrew (Gary Cole) as Sorkin hates both Ari and Babs (Beverly D’Angelo). Shocking, I know.

Andrew, however, is going through some, uh, personal problems that stem back to an affair with fellow agent Lizzie Grant (Autumn Reeser). This results in Andrew sleeping in his office and his wife not allowing him in the house to get his notes for the ever important Sorkin meeting. When Andrew watches his wife burn his Sorkin notes he loses his mind on a massive scale and rams his car through his own house.

Soon the always wonderful Llyod (Rex Lee) interrupts the quickly crumbling Sorkin meeting, which Ari and Babs are trying in vain to save, to announce that Andrew has landed himself in jail. Ari and Sorkin, hopeful about Andrew’s supposedly brilliant ideas, take a field trip to jail to have a chat with Andrew.

Andrew gives perhaps the most pathetic pitch in history saying (read: sobbing), “I drove into my own house for you, Aaron. My own underinsured overpriced Beverly Hills mother f*cking home. I took my car and I put it in gear and I drove right into my own goddamn living room. For you. Who else would do that?”

To which Sorkin simply responds, “I had a rough divorce too. I get it. We’ll give it a shot. But if [Ari] ever calls me, I’m gone.”

Fair enough Aaron, fair enough.

[Where to stream Entourage]