MAD MEN / “Severance”

mad men joan peggy 7x08

We’re covering the final season of Mad Men over at The Los Angeles Review of Books. To start us off, Phil wrote about the return of Rachel Menken:

“We wanted Rachel to come back, but she is not who she is. Something else, something deeper is troubling Don Draper. Time travel isn’t easy even when it’s possible. You can’t see Rachel Menken again; she doesn’t exist anymore.”

…and Lili wrote about what it’s like to keep getting disappointed by this show:

“I want Roger and Joan scenes, and (I’m sorry to say this) but, for dramatic reasons, I want Roger to die. I want the illusion Mad Men offers that erasures are clean to rip the paper it’s written on a little. I want something to matter. Just one little chicken coming home to roost would make it all feel a little less unmoored, a little less pointless as a viewing experience.”

Let us tell you the story of love and hate!

Deep Cuts: Rachel in Furs / Mad Men Fantasies

Leave a comment