Seattle Councilmember Rob Saka calls for action after fatal shooting near Alki Beach

Seattle City Councilmember Rob Saka (District 1) released the following statement after a weekend shooting near Alki Beach that killed a 22-year-old man:

“I am devastated and frustrated after a young man was shot and killed near Alki Beach early Saturday morning. I offer my condolences to the family of the victim. This violence is unacceptable, and all to often, it’s our community’s young people who are paying the price. 

I went to the crime scene Saturday morning and spoke directly with first responders and called a neighbor who had their window shot out. This tragic shooting could have easily ended with even more lost lives. I have been in contact with the Mayor’s Office to express my frustration and request collaboration on urgent solutions. 

I have been in close contact with community leaders in Alki who have called for more aggressive public safety and traffic calming measures. Alki area is one of Seattle’s top destinations for visitors and tourists, but we know dangerous criminal behavior dramatically accelerates during the summer there and threatens the safety of the community.

I am committed to working with our partners in taking bold action to address these serious public safety concerns affecting Alki and our entire city. That needs to start with a meeting between our City leadership and the community. We need to act with urgency.”