Birkbeck Study Skills -The MOODLE module is being developed to include materials that will help students develop their academic skills. All students will automatically be enrolled on the module. Staff are able to self-enrol on the module. You will need your Birkbeck username and password to access this resource.
Notetaking Systems page from California State Polytechnic illustrating the various systems of note taking
Plain English Campaign an independent organisation fighting for crystal-clear language and against jargon, gobbledygook and other confusing language
Skills4study a comprehensive study skills page prepared by Stella Cottrell, offering general advice on learning skills techniques. Also includes links to specific study skills and resources for various subject areas
Study Guide Zone an online study resources directory, including advice on different types of learners, concentration and memorization techniques, critical thinking skills, testing and essay writing
Study Skills Online "an electronic guide to some of the best ways to study" from Martin Greenhow at Brunel University
StudyGuide.org collection of resources designed to help students with school online: writing, reading, essays, homework, assignments, literature, and speech.
Study Tips various articles offering assistance with learning strategies, revising, maths help and study skills for science students. Also has useful links to other sites
Virginia Tech Study Skills Self-help Information (Cook Counseling Center). A general site with advice on time management, improving concentration, note taking, effective reading, stress management and essay writing
Advice on Academic Writing comprehensive site from the University of Toronto. Includes advice on reading and researching, style and editing, planning and organizing and using sources. Also has a section for writers of English as a second language
Birkbeck Study Skills - The MOODLE module is being developed to include materials that will help students develop their academic skills. All students will automatically be enrolled on the module. Staff are able to self-enrol on the module.
Video tutorials on Essay Writing including 'Overview of essay writing', 'Answering the question & planning', 'Targeted reading & use of evidence', 'Structuring your essay' and 'Clear communication and proof reading' online tutorials from University of Reading Study Advice
Writing in College: from competence to excellence - Writing in College is designed for students who have largely mastered high-school level conventions of formal academic writing and are now moving beyond the five-paragraph essay to more advanced engagement with text. Amy Guptill available as an Open Textbook SUNY.
Ask Dr. Math Basic maths questions answered by maths professors. You can either email questions or search the archives
Math Forum comprehensive guide covering a range of topics including algebra, calculus, geometry, probability and statistics. Also has sections on applied maths for the sciences, humanities and social sciences
Maths Online A list of links to various interactive online learning materials
Bedford Research Room page from Colorado State University, providing useful links on how to develop a research question, search the web, evaluate sources and work with information from sources
Engage in Research for biosciences students . It covers the basic areas of research, including how and where to search for scientific papers, how to structure a literature review, basic statistics and more - from University of Reading.
Postgraduate Research in Law advice from the University of Wollongong Library guide on how to conduct legal research, including hints on developing a topic, research methods, style and constructing reasoned arguments
Research and Documentation Online (5th ed) site by Diana Hacker, offering advice on finding and documenting sources in the Humanities, Social Sciences, History, and Sciences. Includes various useful links
Research Basics: an open academic research skills course. This introductory program was created by JSTOR free and open self-paced course designed to help early college and college-bound students learn academic research skills. Learn about effective searching, evaluating credibility, and properly citing sources.
The Seven Steps of the Research Process Outlines a strategy for finding information and documenting the sources you find. Also offers good advice on evaluating source
Start your Research a step-by-step guide produced by NorthWestern Libraries, is designed to walk students through the research process, step-by-step.
The Bedford Research Room advice on how to create a works cited or references list and links to pages outlining the use of MLA and APA styles.
Plagarism.org comprehensive site giving guidance on citation styles, information on copyright laws and how to avoid plagiarism.
Citing References Learning Objects created by Cardiff University - APA, Harvard, MHRA, OSCOLA and Vancouver styles are all covered; includes quizzes where you can test your understanding of each system.
Video tutorials on Referencing including 'Avoiding unintentional plagiarism', 'Using long and short quotes', 'Using paraphrases' and 'Writing a precis or summary' online tutorials from University of Reading Study Advice
Evaluating Internet Information page from John Hopkins University discussing the criteria which can be used to assess information found on the Internet
Intute Virtual Training Suite a set of free online tutorials designed to help students, lecturers and researchers improve their Internet information literacy and IT skills
Learn the Net site with links to various online courses, quizes and games to help you master the Internet
Finding Information on the Internet - a tutorial This free online tutorial from the University of California at Berkeley offers beginning, intermediate, and advanced courses on using the Internet
NoodleQuest Asks you questions about your research topic and suggests the best Internet search strategy.
