Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

10
  • 10
    "either re-write them in your own words, or quote them and cite them properly"—the source likely should still be cited if you're rewriting them in your own words. Especially given the circumstances here, it would probably best to get advice, preferably in writing, before deciding that a paraphrase of something doesn't need a citation (e.g. that the theorem is common knowledge). Commented Jul 31, 2020 at 19:38
  • 1
    Citing a source is nothing bad. I've got the impression that he may think you need to do more original work by rewriting the theorem. This is not needed and the theorem will not be original work. On the other hand, it is probably not required to have the theorem to be original work, when it is only a perquisite for other parts of the thesis. Most the time you'll rewrite it a bit when using it and cite the original source, sometimes you'll take it as is (maybe changing the formatting a bit) and add something like "we'll use theorem X from work Y: (theorem here)"
    – allo
    Commented Jul 31, 2020 at 20:11
  • And with most advisors, good work does not mean complicated work. An easy result does not mean you didn't work enough, but that you're able to express the idea and result in simple terms, what is a good thing. One doesn't need to add complicated own theorems like the one that was not cited correctly to impress anyone. Most works are not about quantity or having many complicated formulas. (Disclaimer: One may have an advisor who thinks otherwise. But this is a problem with the advisor).
    – allo
    Commented Jul 31, 2020 at 20:13
  • It hasn't got published or submitted yet but in the oral defence talk, I haven't mentioned their paper while taking portions from their work, I blindly followed what I have written in the thesis. The problem is I asked my professor that I am reading a paper and elaborating it. He said it is ok in master's thesis but you have to cite that. I have thanked my friends and put many other citations and mentioned the name of that particular paper in reference but I don't know how I skipped putting \cite.
    – Ri-Li
    Commented Aug 1, 2020 at 0:40
  • Then we were doing a final review and I said that I made a mistake and a citation is skipped. He said we will meet tomorrow and then he cancelled the meeting and said that I am charged of plagiarism under section B and I have to face a departmental and academic hearing. I have taken the statement of the theorems and example from that paper and tried to write all the proofs in my own word. I am willing to rectify all the work and I could have done it in the mean time when I have to face two hearings and time is running away.
    – Ri-Li
    Commented Aug 1, 2020 at 0:41