New Coastal Carolina baseball coach Kevin Schnall talks goals for 2025, Gary Gilmore’s legacy

The former Chanticleer catcher and current associate head coach takes the reins from Gary...
The former Chanticleer catcher and current associate head coach takes the reins from Gary Gilmore, who retired after the 2024 campaign following a 29-year career at the helm for the Chants.(Coastal Carolina Athletics)
Published: Jun. 19, 2024 at 2:48 PM EDT

CONWAY, S.C. (WMBF) - Nearly two weeks after it was announced he was taking over Coastal Carolina’s baseball program as its new head coach, Kevin Schnall says things haven’t set in yet.

“The truth is, it hasn’t really set in,” he said. “But what I can tell you is I fill this seat with a lot of gratitude and I’m really excited about this next chapter. And I’m really looking forward to taking on this new assignment.”

Schnall was named the program’s new head coach on June 10 and now takes over for Gary Gilmore, who retired after 29 years at the helm.

He’s a familiar face in Conway too, not only as a highly-regarded catcher for the Chanticleers in the 1990s but also as a longtime assistant coach under Gilmore.

“I shared a dugout with Gilley [Gilmore] for 23 of the last 27 years,” he said. “Together we accomplished an immense amount of success. When I really reflect back, the journey all started with a couple of chances. The chance he took on me back in 1997 as a player to give me the opportunity to play Division I baseball, and then the chance he took on me in 2000 which kickstarted my coaching career. The bottom line is, if it wasn’t for those chances, I’m not sure where I’m at right now. So I’m forever indebted to Gilley for all he’s provided me and my family.”

Schnall said his primary goals since taking over have been scouting new talent as well as making sure those already with the Chanticleers stick around. He’s also been working to assemble his staff ahead of next spring.

“At the end of the day, you’ve got to have great players,” he said. “What we need to continue to do, we’ve got to recruit the best players that have the energy to fit in the Coastal Carolina way.”

Schnall added that the team should have “a great nucleus” of players coming back from a 2024 squad that made the NCAA Tournament.

“Nobody’s leaving the program because they love Coastal Carolina,” he said. “They love this program. We’re in an era where you’re seeing so many people that are jumping ship and transferring. We’re fortune at Coastal Carolina. Our guys don’t want to jump ship. They don’t want to leave because this place is so special.”

You can watch our full interview with Schnall in the video above.

Stay with WMBF News for updates.