‘Life goes on’: Columbia woman shares her story living with ALS

Watch WIS News 10 at 11 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Published: Jun. 14, 2024 at 8:41 PM EDT

COLUMBIA, S.C. (WIS) - Storms always pass, and the world keeps turning.

That’s a philosophy Margo Means lives by. Her spirit didn’t hit the brakes when life handed her a wild card.

“I don’t think God has given me a mind to waste,” said Means. “I think I can do far more.”

Means shared her story of being diagnosed with ALS in 2018. She reminisced on retiring early from her career and losing the ability to walk. But, when she speaks of her dreams, hope shines in her eyes.

“My dream is to help people like me,” she said. “whether through prayer, advocacy, or writing a book.”

Her big dreams may come as a shock to many, but she reminds others that her disease does not take away who she is. She may not be able to walk, but she can use her voice. She’s no stranger to using her voice to get a job done. Even in her 70′s, she is willing to use her voice for work.

“I know of many people who work from home,” she said. “I’m looking for a hand-up, not a handout.”

Means’ eagerness to work comes from the financial strains of paying for caregivers.  A caregiver gets her out of bed each morning, gives her water, and supplies all other needs.

Her days can’t start until the arms of another lift her.

“Don’t fight this disease alone,” said Means.

It wasn’t always a caregiver who tended to her, but rather, her late husband.

While fighting his dementia, he stayed by Margo’s side and took care of her, until his last breath.

“In May of 2021, we moved here, and by June, I was burying him,” she said.

Now, she relies on the kindness of caregivers to survive each day. Even as the world turns, Margo pushes each day to keep up.

“I hope to do something useful,” she said. “I don’t want this living room to be the end for me”

Anyone interested in getting in contact with Margo can via email. There is a GoFundMe to help her medical expenses.

Feel more informed, prepared, and connected with WIS. For more free content like this, subscribe to our email newsletter, and download our apps. Have feedback that can help us improve? Click here.