Sen. Senn waives recount and concedes, Rep. Leber to move forward

South Carolina State Sen. Sandy Senn has waived her right to a recount and conceded from the race for District 41.
Published: Jun. 14, 2024 at 10:17 AM EDT|Updated: Jun. 14, 2024 at 6:38 PM EDT

CHARLESTON, S.C. (WCSC) - South Carolina State Sen. Sandy Senn has waived her right to a recount and conceded from the race for District 41.

With this concession, her competitor, State House District 116 Rep. Matt Leber will head to the general election this fall.

Senn’s loss comes after the backlash she faced because of her stance on abortion.

She has represented the district, which lies in Charleston and Dorchester counties, for nearly a decade.

This move also raises the question of who will represent Leber’s district.

Senn released a letter in response to the loss, which reads as follows:

I was unaware that I could waive the mandatory recount which was statutorily triggered

by the race being separated by a small 30 + vote margin. However, I trust the computers to

tabulate correctly and therefore I have just notified the SC Election Commission that they need

not go through the many hours of extra work to re-run the ballots.

While losing by a small number of votes was tough, the fact is my competitor only

needed to win by one vote to beat me. So, I have congratulated him, profusely thanked my

supporters, and even finished cleaning up all the campaign signs already.

I stand by all my votes taken in the past eight years, regretting none. It has been a great

honor to serve District 41 and I thank the citizens for giving me that opportunity.

Sincerely,

Sandy Senn, District 41 Senator

Leber said on Friday that it has been a long and competitive campaign, and to get to the end with a win is fantastic.

“I do support the Republican platform and I think that resonates with Republican voters, it’s just that simple,” Leber said. “This election wasn’t about any single issue, it was about all the issues and folks know that Matt Leber is going to be a conservative voter every single time and they appreciate that.”

Leber explained his head is in the game as he prepares for the November election.

“We’ve got to go back into session to consider the budget and the governor vetoes and we’re going to start looking at our democratic opponent some more and we’re going to start campaigning for that, we’re not going to take it lightly and we are going to complete the mission,” Leber said.

Leber celebrated the win on Folly Beach with supporters and family.