Lower Richland High School senior graduates following viral plea

Although she would finish the remainder of the school year from home, Patterson walked alongside her friends and graduating class on Saturday.
Published: Jun. 1, 2024 at 6:42 PM EDT

COLUMBIA, S.C. (WIS) - A Richland School District One student celebrated her graduation Saturday after she was suspended from Lower Richland High School in January 2024 for her involvement in a school fight. Senior Cierra Patterson went viral on TikTok and Facebook after she shared her side of the story at a School Board Meeting in March 2024.

She was thrilled to be able to walk across the stage Saturday after she initially thought she wouldn’t be able to do so.

“I wasn’t getting any help from anyone. I had to speak up for myself because if I didn’t, I probably would’ve failed and I probably would’ve stayed back so I felt like if I didn’t speak up for myself nobody was going to speak for me.”

Patterson says she was suspended for getting into a fight with another student in January, but she claims she was trying to break up the fight instead.

She was sent to finish her final semester at the Olympia Learning Center following her suspension… but Patterson says the learning center didn’t have the curriculum for all of the courses she was taking in her final semester.

Patterson says she submitted an appeal for suspension twice on February 15th and 26th, which eventually led her to then speak at a Richland School District One school board meeting on Tuesday, March 12th.

Patterson’s public reaction got thousands of views, going viral on TikTok and Facebook.

“I didn’t expect it to go viral; when my friend first sent it to me it barely had views (and) I didn’t even know anyone was going to post it,” Patterson said, “Once it got like thousands and thousands (of views). I was like, ‘Oh my gosh!’”

Following that board meeting, a board member told WIS News the board didn’t receive an appeal request, and that the student would graduate.

Although she would finish the remainder of the school year from home, Patterson walked alongside her friends and graduating class on Saturday.

“I am so excited to go to this next chapter of my life; It really helped me, and I worked towards all my goals,” Patterson said, “I (feel) like I deserve it, so I’m glad I got it.”

Patterson still plans to join the Army and says she’s leaving for basic training in July 2024.

Feel more informed, prepared, and connected with WIS. For more free content like this, subscribe to our email newsletter, and download our apps. Have feedback that can help us improve? Click here.