Filed under:

Nate Diaz in no hurry for Conor McGregor trilogy: ‘I think I beat him twice’

Esther Lin, MMA Fighting

Nate Diaz considers the battle over and himself as the winner. He is in absolutely no rush to fight Conor McGregor for a third time.

Diaz told this to Chael Sonnen on his podcast this week. Diaz beat McGregor by second-round submission at UFC 196 in March and McGregor took the rematch by majority decision at UFC 202 two weeks ago. But Diaz maintains he was victorious in both matchups.

"It's whatever to me," Diaz said. "I won the fight. I'm not jumping for joy for round three. I think I beat him twice and it's 2-0, as far as I'm concerned. If they're gonna want to do it down the road, I don't know. I'm not in a hurry. It's all good."

Diaz (19-11) probably has plenty of options in the table for his next fight. He has become over the last few months one one of the most popular names in the UFC. There are money fights for him down the line. He just doesn't seem to be too interested in them. Diaz said after UFC 202 that he wasn't going to fight again until the McGregor trilogy.

Sonnen posed Diaz a question. What would happen if Nick Diaz, Nate's brother, asked him to fight Georges St-Pierre in GSP's comeback fight? Nick and GSP have a long rivalry and Nate has said in the past that GSP is Nick's fight and he doesn't want it.

"Nick is my fearless leader," Nate said. "I do whatever Nick tells me to do. But I don't know what what they're doing with him right now. I don't know what they're doing with Nick right now.

"If Nick told me to go fight Joe Blow, I'd go fight Joe Blow. I'm a soldier, man, and that's the general."

Nate Diaz, 31, said he's going to just enjoy the rest of the summer and not worry about what is next for now. He does believe that McGregor is going to move on from their rivalry, at least for the time being. The UFC does not seem to be too interested in running it back immediately, according to quotes recently from president Dana White.

Yet immediately after the bout McGregor and Diaz were talking about doing it again at lightweight rather than welterweight.

"[McGregor] and his coach know what happened in the fight," Nate said. "They're not stupid. I think they're gonna do what they can do to do another division, get onto a new page."

Although Nate said he does find it funny that he has not spoken yet to anyone from the UFC since UFC 202 when that was not the case for McGregor after UFC 196.

"Remember the last time, they rushed to his house the next morning and said he was all obsessed or whatever," Nate said.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Fighting Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Fighting