Dipped gold legs | rescuing and old chair

Saving this little chair from the skip

Today I decided to give this little chair a makeover. It was sitting in our office in work and it was moments away from being chucked into a skip until I stepped in to save it. I had got a pot of Coral furniture paint off Rust-oleum earlier in the year and it was sitting in my press. I recently upcycled my Ikea desk and I had some leftover gold spray paint. Whilst scrolling through Pinterest I stumbled across chairs with dipped legs. I wanted to try out the coral colour but it was looking a little flat so I decided to spray the ends of the legs with my leftover gold spray paint. 

Getting braver with colour

When I first starting up-cycling furniture I was obsessed with painting everything white and cream. It was a bit of fifty shades of cream. Whoever, lately I have been loving trying some new colours. Whether it is spraying old telephones pink or getting crafty with some copper I have been enjoying injecting some colour into my house. When it comes to furniture I am still playing it safe with some pastel shades but I am slowly getting there. I love the pop of colour from the coral shade. 

Prep and Prime 

This chair had a lot of staining on the seat from people sitting on it in dark coloured jeans in work and the ink had transferred onto the chair. I didn’t want any of this bleeding so I gave it a coat of primer. 

Before priming I washed it down with sugar soap to get the years of grime off it. Using some left over surface primer I gave it one coat of primer. Once the primer was dry I applied the coral chalk paint. 

Pop of gold

I applied two coats of the coral chalk paint and allowed it to fully dry. I then wrapped the legs in some duck tape and lightly sprayed on a coat of bright gold spray paint. Once the gold paint was fully dry I applied a coat of polyurethane finish spray to seal my chalk paint. Don’t worry if you have no poly spray as you can use wax to seal your piece. I was being a little lazy and used the poly spray today.

I am in love with this colour, I also have tonnes of it left in my tin and used just over a quarter of a can on my chair. What should I paint next with my leftover paint? 

I hope you enjoyed today’s little upcycle. I had a pile of housework to do on my day off but after seeing the tragic news about Machester when I woke up I needed a little distraction. So, I took out the paint brush and went to the garden and upcycled this little chair. 

Thanks for reading, 

Chat soon, 

Catherine. 

Follow:
Share:

4 Comments

  1. melanie houghton
    September 25, 2017 / 5:39 pm

    hiya x have you ever used satinwood to upcycle or do you think its too shiny?

  2. Victoria
    May 30, 2017 / 9:40 am

    This looks great Catherine, so pretty and it's really inspiring to see you upcycle stuff, I think I'll be doing a lot of that myself when I eventually buy xx

  3. Catherine Carton
    May 23, 2017 / 8:43 pm

    Agh thanks Poppy, I couldn't see it going to the skip. I am loving pops of gold on my pieces lately x Thanks so much for reading. xxx

  4. Poppy
    May 23, 2017 / 4:50 pm

    Indeed, this chair had seen better days. Pink and gold! Why ever not? Perfect match for your desk. Really pretty 🙂

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from Dainty Dress Diaries

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading