The Almond Cake That Will Save Your Soul

The ingredients are simple: butter, sour cream, baking soda, flour, sea salt, sugar, almond paste, 4 egg yolks, almond extract and confectioner's sugar for dusting. But assembled as they are and baked as they were, this cake is sheer perfection. On pg. 70 of Hesser's book (referenced also in the previous post), this cake was first prepared by Amanda's now mother-in-law. I'd like to break into that family somehow just so I'd have an excuse to genuflect at mom-in-law's feet on a regular basis to thank her for this brilliant creation. "Thank you thank you thank you," I'd say.Am I overdoing it? Maybe. Just maybe. But look at this cake again and call me a liar:Look at this slice:IMG_2.JPGDo you have any idea how good this tastes? Do you? DO YOU PUNK?Ok, I'll break my own rule established in the post below and share the recipe. I think recipes are in the public domain, anyway--it's somewhere in the Federal Code 3.825 regarding Delicious Almond Cake Recipes and the Rule Against Perpetuities. I do have a law degree, you know.The ingredients are mentioned above but not the amounts. So here we go again:2 sticks butter, softened, more for buttering pan1 cup sour cream, at room temperature1 tsp baking soda2 cups sifted all-purpose flour (measured after sifting)1/2 teaspoon sea salt1 1/2 cups sugar7-oz tube almond paste, cut into small pieces(Lisa cut the almond paste using a juvenile method that I found offensive:IMG_8.JPG"Those aren't small pieces," I pleaded."Shut up, crackwhore," she retorted.)4 egg yolks, at room temperature(Ok, can I just mention that I'm usually great at separating egg yolks, and how these eggs I bought were deformed? I'd pour the egg into my hand, as I usuall do, spreading my fingers for the white to fall through--except the yellow bled into the white and I had to dump it all. Then I did the shell method--break the shell in half and pour back and forth until it's all separated; but again the yolk bled. It took a big mess to finally get the four I needed. Don't ask why I was using coffee mugs:IMG_4.JPGOk, I used the coffee mugs because you're supposed to add the yolks one at a time so I put two yolks per mug then poured half the mug for each addition. Genius? I dare say it is!)1 tsp almond extractConfectioners' sugar, for sifting over cake1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter sides and bottoms of one 9-inch springform pan; line sides and bottoms with parchment paper. Butter the paper. (You may forego the parchment paper as long as you are generous with the butter on the pan itself.) Mix together the sour cream and baking soda in a small bowl. Sift the flour and salt into another bowl.2. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle, cream the butter and sugar until fluffy. Add the almond paste, a little at a time, at medium speed, and beat for 8 minutes.IMG_10.JPGBeat in the egg yolks one at a time, and mix until incorporated. It will look curdled; don't worry. Blend in the almond extract and sour cream mixture. Reduce mixer speed to low and gradually add the flour mixture, just until blended.3. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and spread evenly.IMG_11.JPGBake about 1 hour. It is done when you press the top and it returns to its shape, and also shrinks from the sides of the pan. Remove from the oven and place on a baking rack to cool in the pan. When ready to serve, sift confectioners' sugar on top and slice like a pie.Behold the celestial magesty of this cake:Simple.Elegant.Robust.Erotic.Dyslexic.Make it today and thank yourself tomorrow.

Print Friendly and PDF
Previous
Previous

The Ew Department: Food Recycling

Next
Next

I Say Carrot, You Say Fennel... Carrot (FENNEL) Carrot (FENNEL): Amanda Hesser's Carrot-Fennel Soup