Celebrity News

Marion Cotillard gives birth to baby girl

French actress Marion Cotillard has welcomed her second child – a baby girl.

The 41-year-old “Assassin’s Creed” star welcomed her new bundle of joy with her partner of 10 years, French actor Guillaume Canet.

The happy couple’s daughter was born on Thursday, March 16, 2017 – according to People magazine.

Cotillard and Canet already have a five-year-old son named Marcel who was born on May 19, 2011.

Cotillard and Canet (who starred alongside Leonardo DiCaprio in “The Beach”) reportedly have known each other since 1997 and first worked together in 2003 film “Love Me If You Dare.”

Cotillard opened up about her second pregnancy in September 2016 in an Instagram post.

“Many years ago, I met the man of my life, father of our son and of the baby we are expecting. He is my love, my best friend, the only one that I need,” she wrote.

While the news of her pregnancy was beautiful and uplifting, her announcement had been forced after rumors had swirled that she had been somehow involved in the highly publicized breakup of Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie – which she strenuously denied in the same Instagram update.

In an interview with The Telegraph last year, Cotillard explained how becoming a mother had changed her work ethic – and how her young son hates to see her in character.

She detailed that the roles she enjoys the most are ones that require her to be as far removed from herself as possible.

She said that past roles had led her to at times remain in character when away from set – or that some of the characters could prove hard to shake off.

Becoming a mother forced her to change the way she prepares for a role as in the past she would spend weeks ahead of filming perfecting and finding her character.

“Usually when I work I’m totally dedicated to the role and when I leave the set I bring some of my character home with me but I can’t bring anyone home with me now because my son would freak out,” she said.

“He hates coming on set because he feels that there’s something totally different. My hair is different, my look is different but more than that, my energy is totally different so I think with the second kid it’s going to be even more interesting because it’s going to be another personality and I’m looking forward to it,” she added.

Cotillard and her lover Canet are released a new film together last month with the French comedy “Rock n Roll.”

Directed by Canet the film sees the duo play versions of themselves with Canet enlisting Cotillard’s help when a young co-star claims he is too old to sell a profitably headline a film.

The film is expected to play at the Tribeca Film Festival in America next month following it’s French release in February.