Celebrity News

Chris Pine: I got ‘a lot of crap’ for crying at the Oscars

Not everyone found Chris Pine‘s teary display of emotion at this year’s Oscars to be touching.

The actor says he got “a lot of crap” for visibly crying during John Legend and Common‘s powerful performance of the tune “Glory” from the civil rights-era drama “Selma.”

“It was a wonderful performance and it was really moving and a lot of people gave me a lot of crap for [crying],” Pine, 34, said on Tuesday’s episode of “The Late Late Show.”

He cheekily added, “I would say as an actor the only time in my life that I think I’ll ever be able to produce a single tear down my cheek was at the Academy Awards.”

The CBS show’s new host, James Corden, weighed in on the matter, joking to the handsome “Star Trek” star, “I don’t look great at the best of times. When I cry I look disgusting. … Have you ever seen someone look so handsome whilst they’re crying?”

During the Oscar-night performance, “Selma” star David Oyelowo also got visibly emotional.

View video