Celebrity News

Exec in racist slams on Obama calls Sharpton, Jackson to ‘heal’

Amy Pascal is in crisis mode following the leak of racially charged emails between herself and producer Scott Rudin in which they mocked President Obama.

As a result, the Sony co-chairman has reached out to both Jesse Jackson and Al Sharpton to begin the “healing process.”

“I’m being proactive,” Pascal told The Hollywood Reporter about her conversations with both leaders. “And I want to accept responsibility for these stupid, callous remarks.”

Pascal and Rudin talked about what to ask Obama at a fundraising breakfast in the fall of 2013. The exchange suggested she bring up black-themed movies including “Django Unchained,” “12 Years a Slave” and “The Butler,” as well as comedian Kevin Hart.

“It was a very preliminary conversation, and we just talked about getting together and hoping to discuss a healing process,” Pascal said of her conversation with Jackson.

On being labeled a racist, she said, “I know it’s not true. And I know that doesn’t reflect who I am or what I feel or what I’ve done. That certainly doesn’t reflect this studio and what we’ve done here.”

Pascal described Sharpton as “very warm” when asked how that conversation went. “I told him I’m coming to New York and will speak with him.”

When quizzed on if she’s being asked to step down from her position at Sony Pictures, Pascal debunked rumors. “That’s completely untrue,” she explained. “I still have the full support of the company.”

Both Pascal and Rudin issued public apologies for their behavior. She said the stolen communications were “insensitive and inappropriate but are not an accurate reflection of who I am.”