More From Decider

Decider Lists

Lea Palmieri’s Top 10 of Everything in 2019 (It’s Mostly British Dudes)

Where to Stream:

Falling Inn Love

Powered by Reelgood

I didn’t hate 2019. There was too much good stuff all up in it! And while of course I remain obsessed with TV shows like Fleabag and Barry and Euphoria, and movies that include Hustlers and Beyoncé’s Homecoming, those are the obvious choices. I’ll stay horny for the Hot Priest and dancing to “Formation,” but I also tried to highlight a few of my less obvious but still highly adored pop culture moments of the year here, some personal, some universal, some controversial! But mostly, it’s a bunch of British guys.

This year afforded me some incredible and unbelievable and memorable moments, including bartending on Watch What Happens Live and painting with the cast of Jersey Shore and running all over the first-ever BravoCon. I’m so grateful for those experiences, for anyone who’s reading this, or another piece I’ve written this year. I can only hope I’ve been a fraction as informative or enjoyable as the handful of moments below. They made me laugh, made me sing, and they made me hopeful for what’s still to come.

1

Harry Styles

This one was a late yet fierce addition if I’m being honest. I loved “Lights Up” from the second I heard it in October, but it was when Harry’s press tour kicked into high gear for his latest album Fine Line that really presented us with one last 2019 treat. From the “Adore You” video to his hosting gig on The Late Late Show to pranking a pizza bro to that “Juice” cover (omg), Harry is doing an incredible job of establishing himself as not just an interesting artist, but an interesting figure — not an easy feat for a former boy bander to accomplish! He’s got his nails painted all funky, he’s got a bunch of rockin’ chicks in his band, and dammit if he doesn’t somehow get cooler and funnier and more attractive and talented every single day. Heart you Harry!

2

'Falling Inn Love'

Falling Inn Love was my very favorite Netflix original romantic comedy this year. It does everything a rom-com should: Christina Milian is great, Adam Demos is hot (and also great!), the Kiwi accents are great. You know exactly what’s going to happen and yet it still hits all the right beats in a way that keeps the film totally satisfying. Oh, not to mention it honored one of the very best jams of the ’90s, Freak Nasty’s “Da’ Dip.” Sweet as!

Where to stream Falling Inn Love

3

Elle Fanning's "Dancing On My Own" from 'Teen Spirit'

Teen Spirit was Max Minghella’s directorial debut this year (now streaming on Hulu) about a girl named Violet (Elle Fanning) who enters a singing competition show and rides the roller coaster that comes with chasing your dreams. But it was Fanning’s performances throughout the film that served as my favorite moments: she belted out songs from Ellie Goulding and Sigrid, but it was the way she sang Robyn’s “Dancing On My Own” that I couldn’t get enough of. I feel it in her voice. I love this version and it made me re-love the original all over again too — and I know I’m not on my own on that one.

Where to stream Teen Spirit

4

'Private Parts' Podcast

I love Hulu and I will continue to spend many, many hours watching Love Island on that streaming platform. But earlier this year, they broke my heart and removed British reality soap Made in Chelsea from the platform with no warning. I miss it every day and hope it returns in 2020.

But until that happens, I stay up to date with two of the cast members, Jamie Laing and Francis Boulle who host the Private Parts podcast. It’s one of the only podcasts I listen to regularly because it’s just so easy. The way they rib each other makes me laugh. The guests they have on allow me to learn about UK celebs and shows and words. They don’t talk about anything too heavy going on in the world, and it just plain suits my humor, no matter how juvenile that may be at times.

Where to stream Private Parts podcast

5

"A Little Bit Alexis"

Schitt’s Creek delivered a song this year that was just as much of a jam as it was a joke, and I’m not kidding when I say it ended up in my Spotify favorite songs of the year playlist. After Alexis (Annie Murphy) performs this song (which the actress also co-wrote with friends!) during an audition, the geniuses behind the Pop TV show released it on streaming platforms as an actual song — and one I listened to a whole bunch. Her performance, her breathy singing, and her “Ew David”s all make this such an addictive earworm, and we can only hope a lot more Alexis is on the way for Season 6.

Where to stream Schitt's Creek

6

'The Russell Howard Hour'

This year I discovered The Russell Howard Hour, a weekly show (available on YouTube) from the British comedian that could possibly be considered a cousin to something like The Daily Show. But what Russell does here doesn’t seem to quite happen on American soil: you see, he makes the disaster that is politics (on both sides of the pond) consistently funny and actually tolerable to hear about. Plus, he packs the show with thoughtful interviews, silly interactions with kids and celebrities, and a segment highlighting people doing good in their communities. Somehow with each weekly hour-long installment, it remains one of the only shows that gives me hope for the world.

Where to stream The Russell Howard Hour

7

Desus & Mero's Warm-Ups

Desus & Mero’s move to Showtime this year has paid off: the show kept its authentic vibe while still getting a glow up. But a great addition to their Monday and Thursday half-hour shows are the Warm-Up segments posted on YouTube. Usually around 10 minutes long, they show the hosts…well, warming up. They have casual conversations, address topics that won’t make it into the final edit of the show, and make me laugh every time.

Where to stream Desus & Mero

8

'Rocketman's "Crocodile Rock" Scene

 

As soon as you see Elton John’s feet leave the ground and float up into the air, I double dare you not to launch into your laaaaaaaa la la la la las. What a moment! Taron Egerton did an excellent job in this role, keeping Rocketman an intriguing viewing throughout. But this performance made me want to lift out of my seat and start dancing — and I have a feeling the rest of the theater would’ve joined me. 

Where to stream Rocketman

9

Michael's Martini

A new party story, or brag, whatever you want to call it, is when I tell people I’ve had one of Michael’s martinis. Michael, the legendary butler to Southern Charm matriarch Patricia Altschul is a fan favorite on the Bravo series and a true gem IRL. When I visited Patricia’s gorgeous home in Charleston earlier this year, I was even treated to one of the gin martinis he whips up for her. Her “medicine” if you will. I’m not typically a gin drinker, but that day I was. It was delicious. It was strong as hell and I couldn’t drink the whole thing, but I hardly ever stop thinking about it.

It was just one of the highlights (and drinks consumed) while covering Southern Charm this year, from spending time with this crew in Charleston, on a docked boat in NYC, at a plastic surgeon’s office, and especially at BravoCon. Ba ba doo, indeed.

Where to stream Southern Charm

10

The Life Savers

I can’t think too long about the brush fire that endangered my favorite animal, koalas, or the fact that our planet is slowly melting by the minute, or the one trillion other sad pieces of news that grace our timelines each and every day. In fact, perhaps it’s due to numbness or curation, 2019 didn’t feel quite as apocalyptic as the past few years (yep, numbness). But it’s also due to the people that help save the adorable koalas, and the intelligent, ballsy Greta Thunberg who will help save humanity, and hell, it’s the people that say thank you when you hold a dang door open for them. If you volunteered, donated, spoke up, or simply did a good deed this year that made Earth a better place to live, even for a moment, I salute you and encourage you to keep that energy flowing into 2020. I promise to join you in smiling, dancing, and helping each other in the new year. xo Lea