The MVP of ‘Narcos: Mexico’ is Diego Luna’s Brown Sweater Jacket

For months, I’ve been waiting with bated breath for the premiere of Narcos: Mexico. But I haven’t been anxiously counting the days until I could see Diego Luna and Michael Peña act their butts off. I’ve been anticipating another season of Narcos‘s incredible costumes. You see I watch Narcos for the clothes. Not the drugs, or the guns, or the drama. I’m just here to see hot Latino men wear dowdy knitwear and glorious man blouses. In Season 2, Narcos gave us Pablo Escobar’s normcore realness. Season 3 introduced us to the carefree flounce of the Cali cartel.

At first, I thought Narcos: Mexico‘s styles were a little underwhelming. Druglord Miguel Ángel Félix Gallardo (Diego Luna) wears neatly tailored suits in ho-hum color schemes. Undercover DEA agent Enrique “Kiki” Camarena (Michael Peña) just looks like, I don’t know, a normal dude. This was not the sartorial wonderland that I had come to expect from the heroes and villains of Netflix’s Narcos. This was just traditional mens’ wear. I was woefully disappointed, upset, and on the verge of losing my faith in the wonders of Narcos‘s otherwise genius wardrobe department. Where was the flair? Where was the passion? Where was the irony? Where was the passion for fashion?

Then, I saw it. At first, I didn’t think much of Diego Luna’s chocolate brown jacket. It was simply a vestment for him to wear from his transition from dirty cop to finely-suited kingpin. Then I noticed that it was not a jacket, but…get this…A SWEATER. And I love me a cozy, nerdy, fitted sweater.

Diego Luna wears a great sweater jacket in Narcos

It looks soft, but not cheaply made. It looks like a tight thin knit perfect for transitional seasons and indoor layering. Up close in the light, it looks like there are strips of suede sewn into the vest. So even better than being an upscale cardigan, it is a bold chimera of a jacket. Luna is pulling off a mythological feat here by wearing something that is half leather jacket, half professor’s cardigan, all badass.

Diego Luna wears a great sweater jacket in Narcos

Yes, it’s badass. Watch the scene closely and you’ll see those front pockets, deep as saddlebags. Look at that collar, pointed like the horns of a devil. Admire the cuffs, tightly knit-purled around Luna’s wrists. Marvel in those two singular ropes of cable knit running down the jacket like suspenders. This sweater jacket is a feast for the eyes. Its softness leaps from the screen. I want to discover its texture. (Which is honestly something I thought Diego Luna himself only said in reference to Jabba the Hutt.) I WANT TO DISCOVER THIS JACKET’S TEXTURE.

More than that, I want a mud-colored sweater jacket just like this one. It looks warm, but not suffocatingly so. It seems to be fitted with a bit of flare. This brown sweater is the MVP of Narcos: Mexico. 

I mean, the drama’s good, too, but like…this one article of clothing!

Watch Narcos: Mexico on Netflix